ATBU Catchment Area For Admission And ELDS

ATBU Catchment Area For Admission And ELDS: Hello, dear reader of! Today, we’re diving into a topic that’s very important for students hoping to get admission into one of Nigeria’s renowned universities, the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, popularly known as ATBU. 

ATBU Catchment Area For Admission And ELDS

For many, getting into a university is a big dream, but the process can sometimes be confusing. 

One term that often pops up and leaves many scratching their heads is ‘catchment area.’ What does it mean? How does it affect admissions? That’s precisely what we’ll be talking about today, along with another essential term – ELDS.

For starters, every university in Nigeria has specific states they prioritize for admission. 

This doesn’t mean they don’t admit students from other states, but students from these ‘catchment areas’ might have a slight edge. 

It’s a way to promote education in those regions and ensure a diverse student population. ATBU, like other institutions, has its catchment areas, and if you’re from one of these states, your chances might be a little bit brighter.

Additionally, there’s the ELDS, which stands for ‘Educationally Less Developed States.’ The idea behind this is to support students from states that historically have lower educational metrics. By doing this, universities like ATBU help bridge the educational gap across Nigeria.

In this article, we’ll list ATBU’s catchment areas and ELDS.

So, keep up with me!

Recommended Posts: 

What is the Meaning of Catchment in Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Admission? 

Just like I explained above, Catchment in Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Admission refers to the geographical area or region from which the university gives preferential treatment to applicants. 

In simple terms, if you’re from a catchment area, you might have a slightly better chance of getting admitted to ATBU compared to applicants from outside that area. It’s a way to balance admission opportunities among different regions.

ATBU Catchment Area and Effects on Admission 

ATBU has a responsibility to ensure diversity. Here’s a breakdown of its catchment areas:

The catchment area for Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University includes the following states:

1.        Bauchi
2.        Adamawa
3.        Gombe
4.        Borno
5.        Yobe
6.        Taraba
7.        Benue

ATBU ELDS for Admission 

Below are the Educationally less developed states in Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University:

1.        Adamawa
2.        Kebbi
3.        Kogi
4.        Sokoto
5.        Jigawa
6.        Nasarawa
7.        Taraba
8.        Cross River
9.        Benue
10.    Rivers
11.    Katsina
12.    Ebonyi
13.    Zamfara
14.    Kano
15.    Niger
16.    Yobe
17.    Kaduna
18.    Bauchi
19.    Borno
20.    Plateau
21.    Kwara
22.    Gombe
23.    Bayelsa

TeezabUpdate’s Conclusion on ATBU Catchment Area For Admission And ELDS

In wrapping up, understanding catchment areas and ELDS can be a game-changer for students aiming for a seat at ATBU. 

It’s about knowing where you stand and making informed decisions. Remember, while these factors play a role, your performance is crucial. 

Hard work, dedication, and a clear understanding of the process can pave the way for success.

At, we’re committed to bringing clarity to students and helping them achieve their academic dreams. 

Whether it’s about admissions, campus life, or academic tips, we’re here with all the info you need. So, as you gear up for your university journey, stay informed, stay prepared, and remember – every big dream starts with a single step. Keep pushing, and success will be yours!

If you have any questions regarding this post simply leave us a comment in the comment box below and we will get back to you as soon as possible. Thanks for Reading! Peace Out! 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top